Charles Sturt University


May 09

Since its establishment in 1989, Charles Sturt University (CSU) has grown to become Australia’s largest regional university and the country’s leading provider of distance education. The University‚Äôs origins date back to the establishment of Experimental Farms in Bathurst in 1895 and Wagga Wagga in 1896, and its history includes the development of Teachers Colleges on those sites in Wagga Wagga in 1947 and Bathurst in 1951.

The growth and evolution of these institutions led to the formation in 1989 of CSU, which incorporated what had by then become the Mitchell College of Advanced Education at Bathurst and the Riverina-Murray Institute of Higher Education at Wagga Wagga.

CSU’s Wangaratta Regional Study Centre, in North-East Victoria, is co-located with Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE (GOTAFE). The Study Centre, located in extensive and attractive grounds, offers the Regional Leadership Program, a course designed for regional Australia, with five modules including “Ethical and effective leadership”, “Organisational behaviour”, and “Financial and project management”. 

For more information about this course, contact Ilena Young at

For more information about CSU, click here.